Save £15 | Limited-Time Offer. Get the code »

alibris logo

The Sacred Flame ()

performed by , , , , , , , , ,
composed by Carlo Gesualdo, Claudio Monteverdi, Dietrich Buxtehude, Felice Anerio, Giovanni Gabrieli, Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, Hans Leo Hassler, Heinrich Schütz, Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck, Joâo IV of Portugal, Johann Sebastian Bach, Josquin Des Prez

John Rutter's handpicked Cambridge Singers have lately been more often deployed in his own music, but Rutter originally formed the group to perform monuments of Renaissance sacred music like those heard on this release. The singers, adult and mixed in gender, mostly emerged from the choral groups of prominent English universities and cathedrals, but Rutter has certainly put his own stamp on them. His performances of Renaissance works tend to make them sound like his own music, with a sunny, slightly soprano-heavy sound ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Jubilate Deo, motet for 8 voices (1597), C. 16
  2. Beatus Vir (I), motet for 6 voices, 2 violins, 3 violas/trombones and continuo (from Seva morale e spirituale), SV 268
  3. Christe, adoramus te, motet for 5 voices, SV 294
  4. Cantate Domino canticum novum, motet, version for 6 voices, SV 293
  5. Sicut cervus, motet for 4 voices (from Motets Book II for 4 voices)
  6. Exsultate Deo, motet for 5 voices (from Motets Book V)
  7. Christus Factus Est, motet for 4 voices
  8. O vos omnes, responsory for 5 voices, W. 8/40
  9. Timor et tremor, motet for 6 voices, M. iii (S. xix/6)
  10. Ave verum corpus, motet for 6 voices, M. xiii (S. xiii/66)
  11. Laudate Dominum omnes gentes, motet for 5 voices & continuo (Cantiones Sacrae No. 11)
  12. Magnificat, for SSATB voices, 2 violins, 2 violas, violone & continuo, BuxWV Anh 1 (doubtful)
  13. Jesu, dulcis memoria, hymn for 4 voice (spurious)
  14. O vos omnes, responsory for 4 voices
  15. Crux fidelis, for 4 voices
  16. Ave Maria... virgo serena, motet for 4 parts
  17. Dixit Maria, for 4 voices
  18. Jauchzet dem Herren, alle Welt (Psalm 100) for double chorus & continuo, SWV 36 (Op. 2/15) (2 versions)
  19. Selig sind die Toten, motet for 2 sopranos, alto, 2 tenors, bass & continuo, SWV 391 (Op. 11/23)
  20. O Jesu Christ, meins Lebens Licht, motet for chorus & brass ("Cantata No. 118"), BWV 118a (BC B23a)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Sacred Flame
2009, Collegium Records

UPC: 040888013426


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency