Save £15 | Limited-Time Offer. Get the code »

alibris logo

The Pillar of the Cloud: Five Centuries of Oxford Anthems ()

performed by , , ,
composed by Basil Harwood, Bernard Rose, Edmund Rubbra, Hubert Parry, John Sheppard, John Stainer, John Taverner, Kenneth Leighton, Lennox Berkeley, Richard Nicholson, Thomas Tomkins, Thomas Weelkes, William H. Harris, William Walton

The Choir of Magdalen College, Oxford, is qualified to present a program subtitled "Five Centuries of Oxford Anthems," for the choir has been around longer than that: it has existed in one form or another since 1458. It would be hard to detect an "Oxford style" in this collection of anthems, save for the opening Lead, kindly light with its text by the Oxfordian John Henry Newman, whose text furnishes the album's title. Nor do you really get five centuries' worth; the music, as usual for such releases, comes from the ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Lead, kindly light
  2. The Lord's prayer
  3. Christe Jesu, pastor bone, antiphon for 5 voices (lacks tenor part)
  4. Let all the world in every corner sing
  5. Motets (3) for chorus, Op 76: There is a Spirit
  6. Lord I have Loved (Psalm 26), for chorus
  7. O pray for the peace of Jerusalem
  8. O That I Once Past Changing Were, for chorus
  9. Crossing the Bar, anthem and motet
  10. When David heard (O my son Absalom), sacred madrigal in 2 sections for 6 voices
  11. Almighty God, the Fountain of All Wisdom, for 5 voices & organ
  12. O how glorious is the kingdom, for choir & organ, Op. 12
  13. A Litany, for chorus ("Drop, Drop Slow Tears")
  14. Bring Us, O Lord God, for chorus
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Pillar of the Cloud: Five Centuries of Oxford Anthems
2019, Opus Arte

UPC: 809478090458


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency