Today Only | Save £20. Get the code »

alibris logo

The English Orpheus - A Series of English Discoveries 1600-1800 ()

performed by , , , , , , , , ,
composed by Augustine Bassano, Capel Bond, Charles Dibdin, Henry Purcell, James Hook, Jeremiah Clarke, John Blow, John Jenkins, John Stanley, Matthew Locke, Orlando Gibbons, Peter Philips, Robert Johnson, Thomas Arne, Thomas Linley (The Younger), Thomas Roseingrave

As fine a series of recordings as has been made in the digital era, Peter Holman's The English Orpheus with his Parley of Instruments is a brilliant, moving, and revelatory series of recordings illuminating the greatness of English music between 1600 and 1800. And if the phrase greatness of English music sounds absurd, which in too many Germanically trained ears it will, all one can suggest is listening to this marvelous collection drawn from the first 28 discs in The English Orpheus. There is joy and grandeur in William ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Curtain Tune, for string orchestra, in C major
  2. O'Carolan's Favorite Jig (a.k.a. "Mary O'Neill"): Symphony, Verse and Chorus
  3. Satyr's Dance for ensemble (doubtful)
  4. Morlake Ground, for keyboard
  5. 'Tis only no harm to know it, you know
  6. Concerti (6) in seven parts: Concerto No 06 in B flat major: Affettuoso
  7. So spake the god. . . There in old Arden's inmost shade
  8. Concerto for keyboard in D major, Op 1/06: Andante
  9. Where the bee sucks, Op 11/6 (after Thomas Arne)
  10. Tell me, lovely shepherd
  11. Keyboard Concerto No. 4 in B flat major: Giga
  12. The Ephesian Matron; or, The Widow's Tears, a comic serenata: So, there she lies upon the floor...If I was a wife
  13. Trumpet Tune ("Cibell") for harpsichord in C major, ZT 678
  14. Tu es Petrus, motet for 8 voices
  15. Aria del Gran Duca Ferdinando di Toscana, for consort in 5 parts
  16. Fantasia a 3 (Music for the Double Bass), No.1, MB16
  17. Fantasia-Air Set, for 3 parts No. 2 in A minor, MB78/12 (VdGS Group 7, No. 2): Fantasia
  18. Salvator Mundi for chorus
  19. Solo for violin & continuo in E major
  20. Concerto in Seven Parts, for strings No. 2 in B minor, Op. 2/2: Concerto No 02 in B minor: Allegro
  21. Jesu auctor clementie, motet for 3 voices, 4 strings & continuo
  22. Voluntary in G minor
  23. Pavan and Galliard for 5 instruments
  24. O Jonathan, woe is me, sacred madrigal for 6 voices
  25. Come, Come Along for a Dance and A Song, ode: And see, Apollo has unstrung his lyre...,Mr. Purcell's Farewell
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The English Orpheus - A Series of English Discoveries 1600-1800
1994, Hyperion

UPC: 034571100166


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency