alibris logo

The Echoing Air ()

performed by , , , , , , ,
composed by Henry Purcell

Henry Purcell's music receives a sumptuous presentation on Sylvia McNair's 1994 CD The Echoing Air. Arranged in four parts following the scheme of Baroque entertainment, the concert features both vocal and instrumental pieces. Opening with a vibrant performance of the Staircase Overture, an early piece full of youthful vitality, the program is drawn from a variety of stage works and incidental music, most of which were randomly compiled in Orpheus Britannicus shortly after the composer's death. McNair's pleasant, unaffected ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. The Staircase Overture, Z. 614
  2. If music be the food of love, song, Z. 379 (3 settings)
  3. Work(s): Cebell
  4. The Libertine, or, the Libertine Destroyed, incidental music, Z. 600: 3b. To Arms, to Arms, Heroic Prince
  5. To arms (from "Bonduca"), symphony & song, Z. 574/15
  6. Tell me, some pitying angel, (The Blessed Virgin's Expostulation), sacred song, for soprano & continuo, Z. 196
  7. Work(s): Slow Air
  8. Work(s): We Come To Sing
  9. Bonduca, or, The British Heroine, incidental music, Z. 574: 17a. Oh! Lead Me to Some Peaceful Gloom
  10. O solitude, my sweetest choice, song, Z. 406
  11. The Fairy Queen, semi-opera, Z. 629: 48bc. Hark! Hark! the Echoing Air
  12. Trumpet Tune (from "The Indian Queen (as Z. 630/4a")) for harpsichord in C major ZT 698
  13. Pausanias, the Betrayer of his Country, incidental music, Z. 585: 1. Sweeter Than Roses
  14. King Arthur, or, The British Worthy, semi-opera, Z. 628: 38. Fairest Isle
  15. She that would gain a faithful lover, song, Z. 414
  16. Cupid, the slyest rogue alive, song, Z. 367
  17. The Indian Queen, semi-opera, Z. 630: 17h. I Attempt from Love's Sickness To Fly
  18. Jig for harpsichord in G minor, ZD 223 (doubtful)
  19. Oedipus, incidental music, Z. 583: 2. Music for a While
  20. The fatal hour comes on apace, song, Z. 421
  21. Work(s): Hear, Mighty Love
  22. The Fairy Queen, semi-opera, Z. 629: 40ab. Plainte: O Let Me Weep
  23. Chacony, for 4 strings in G minor, Z. 730: 40ab. Plainte: O Let Me Weep
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency