alibris logo

The Call of the Phoenix ()

performed by
composed by Anonymous, English, Anonymous, Worcester Antiphonarium, Forest, John Bennet, John Dunstable, John Plummer, John Pyamour, John Trouluffe, Richard Mowere, Walter Frye, Walter Lambe

The Orlando Consort once again shows its intelligence and educated approach to Renaissance-era music, while not denying the beauty of the pieces. The album is a demonstration, in varied works, of the contenance angloise, the sound that distinguished English music of the fifteenth century from that of the continent. This release pays particular attention to votive antiphons, although there are also a few mass movements included. According to the excellent notes about the works in the accompanying booklet (which also ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Stella celi (15th century)
  2. Quam pulchra es for 3 voices
  3. Tota pulcra es, for 3 voices
  4. Gloria, for 3 voices (No. 13)
  5. Salve scema sanctitatis, isorhythmic motet for 4 voices, MB 30
  6. Credo, for 3 voices (No. 15)
  7. Tota Pulchra Es
  8. O pulcherrima mulierum (15th century)
  9. Sanctus
  10. O sanctissime presul (15th century)
  11. Anna Mater Matris Christi
  12. Audivi vocem (15th century)
  13. Ave Regina caelorum for 3 voices
  14. Beata dei genitrix
  15. Ave regina celorum (15th century)
  16. Gaude virgo (15th century)
  17. Nesciens mater
  18. Stella Caeli for 4 voices
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
The Call of the Phoenix
2002, Harmonia Mundi

UPC: 093046729721


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency