Save £10 through Sunday. Get the code »

Silent Noon ()

performed by ,
composed by Arthur Somervell, Benjamin Britten, Charles Villiers Stanford, Dilys Elwyn Edwards, Frederick Keel, Hubert Parry, Ivor Gurney, Michael Head, Peter Warlock, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Roger Quilter, Thomas Dunhill

Bryn Terfel's overdue sequel to his highly successful The Vagabond (1995) dips deeper yet into the barrel of English song, hauling up a number of unfamiliar composers and songs, and interspersing them with favorites by Roger Quilter, Ralph Vaughan Williams, and Benjamin Britten. It's a far more diverse collection than The Vagabond, lavishing attention especially on the turn-of-the-century (twentieth, that is) students of C.V. Stanford and Hubert Parry. For that reason it will be of great interest to fans of that era in ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Shakespeare Songs (3) for voice & piano (or orchestra), Op. 6
  2. The "Elizas", Elizabethan Songs (5) for voice & piano: Sleep
  3. Salt-Water Ballads (3), for voice & piano
  4. The Cloths of Heaven, for voice & piano
  5. The House of Life, song cycle for voice & piano: No. 2. Silent Noon
  6. Linden Lea, song for voice & orchestra ("In Linden Lea"; "A Dorset Song")
  7. Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal, for voice & piano, Op. 3/2
  8. Elizabethan Lyrics (7) for voice & piano, Op. 12: Weep you no more
  9. Elizabethan Lyrics (7) for voice & piano, Op. 12: Go, lovely rose
  10. The Shropshire Lad, song cycle
  11. Money, O!, for voice & piano
  12. The Lord's Prayer, for voice & piano
  13. Folksong Arrangements, Vol. I "British Isles," for voice & piano: The Salley Gardens
  14. Folksong Arrangements, Vol. I "British Isles," for voice & piano: Oliver Cromwell
  15. Folksong Arrangements, Vol. III "British Isles," for voice & piano: The Foggy, Foggy Dew
  16. Captain Stratton's Fancy, for voice & piano
  17. Love Is a Bable, for voice & piano (English Lyrics, Set 6, No. 3)
  18. Cloths of Heaven for voice & piano, Op. 30/3
  19. The Aquiline Snub, for voice & piano, Op. 375
  20. The Compleat Virtuoso, for voice & piano, Op. 366
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Silent Noon
2005, Deutsche Grammophon

UPC: 028947753360


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency