alibris logo

Shostakovich: Songs; Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk ()

performed by , , , , , , , ,
composed by Dmitry Shostakovich

One of the box sets released in commemoration of the centenary of the birth of Dmitry Shostakovich, this five-disc set of song cycles coupled with the opera Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk District is certainly the most needful for Shostakovich collectors. After all, there were lots of other sets of the symphonies and string quartets available, but no other sets of the songs, by far the most often overlooked area of his output. Shostakovich composed few songs early in his career except the passionately pessimistic Japanese Songs, ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Fables (2), for mezzo-soprano & orchestra, Op. 4
  2. Romances (4) on Poems by Pushkin, songs for voice and piano, Op. 46 (arr for harp & strings as Op 46a)
  3. Songs (6) for bass & small orchestra, Op .140 (second orchestration of Op62)
  4. From Jewish Folk Poetry, song cycle for soloists & piano, Op. 79 (orchestrated as Op 79a)
  5. Songs (6) on verses by Japanese poets, for tenor & orchestra, Op. 21
  6. Poems (6) of Marina Tsvetayeva, for alto & piano, Op. 143 (orchestrated as Op 143a)
  7. Suite on Verses of Michelangelo, songs (11) for bass & orchestra, Op. 145a (orchestration of Op 145)
  8. Verses (4) of Captain Lebyadkin, songs for bass & piano, Op. 146
  9. Suite of Romances (7) for soprano & piano trio, Op. 127
  10. Suite on Verses of Michelangelo, songs (11) for bass & piano, Op. 145 (orchestrated as Op 145a)
  11. Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, opera, Op. 29
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency