2-Day Sale | £20 Off. Get the code »

alibris logo

Sacred and Secular Music from Renaissance Germany ()

performed by , , , , , , , , , ,
composed by Adam Knight Gilbert, Adam von Fulda, Anonymous, Buxheimer Orgelbuch, Anonymous, German, Christmas Traditional, Gregorian Chant, Guillaume Dufay, Heinrich Finck, Heinrich Isaac, Jacques Barbireau, Johannes Beham, Nicolas Grenon

The cover blurb for this release by the Cleveland, OH, early music ensemble Ciaramella quotes a critic who praises the musicians for their ability to play "with the ease of jazz musicians improvising on a theme." The comment is especially apt for this disc of German Renaissance music, commercially speaking the poor stepchild of the era compared with English, Italian, and even French music. For the German Renaissance world was full of individual musicians and ensembles who elaborated on preexisting models, much as a jazz ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Nova vobis gaudia
  2. Se la face ay pale, chanson setting (after Dufay?)
  3. Se la face ay pale, ballade for 3 voices
  4. Se la face ay pale, chanson setting (after Dufay?)
  5. Untitled work, for ensemble (from D-Mbs Mus. Ms. 3154)
  6. Gaude, virgo, mater Jesu Christe, motet
  7. Wer ich eyn falck / Invicto regi jubilo, motet
  8. Missa Je ne fay plus, for chorus: Kyrie
  9. Missa Je ne fay plus, for chorus: Gloria
  10. Ave sanctissima Maria, motet for 4 voices
  11. Alma chorus / O du arme Judas, motet
  12. Mein Herz in hohen Freuden ist, hymn
  13. Gespiele, liebe Gespiele güt, song
  14. O plebs quae Deum amas, motet
  15. Een Vroylic Wesen for 3 voices
  16. Ach, Jupiter / O diva sollers virgo, motet
  17. Sancta Maria wohn uns bei, hymn
  18. Komm Heiliger Geist, hymn
  19. Komm heiliger Geist, Herre Gott
  20. Komm Heiliger Geist, hymn
  21. So steh ich hie auf dieser Erd, hymn
  22. Uf dieser Erd, hymn
  23. Mein Herz in hohen Freuden ist, hymn
  24. Wer ich eyn falck, fanfare for ensemble
  25. Dies est Laetitiae, cantio introductory, 4 part motet
  26. Dies est laetitiae (Piae Cantiones)
  27. Pleni sunt coeli, motet
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency