Weekend Sale | Save £15. Get the code »

Roy Harris: Complete Piano Music

performed by
composed by Roy Harris

Roy Harris' symphonies are played much less than they once were, and the piano pieces on this album go all but unheard on recitals. It may be time for a revival of Harris' music in general, for he had a distinctive style that avoided populism, Romantic models, and European systematizing. Furthermore, unlike Copland, he did not change his style to catch the prevailing winds. This fine disc could make a good place to start with his music, for despite the small scale of the pieces (unlike the symphonies) they fuse the diverse ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Piano Sonata, Op. 1
  2. Little Suite for piano
  3. American Ballads (10) for piano: 1. Streets of Laredo
  4. American Ballads (10) for piano: 2. Wayfaring Stranger
  5. American Ballads (10) for piano: 3. The Bird
  6. American Ballads (10) for piano: 4. Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair
  7. American Ballads (10) for piano: 5. Cod Liver Ile
  8. Piano Suite in 3 movements
  9. Toccata for piano
  10. American Ballads (10) for piano: 1. Li'l Boy Named David
  11. American Ballads (10) for piano: 2. When Johnny Comes Marching Home
  12. True Love Don't Weep, variations for piano
  13. (untitled), for piano
  14. Scherzo, for piano (original version of 3rd movement of Piano Sonata)
  15. A Happy Piece for Shirley, for piano
  16. Orchestrations, for piano
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Roy Harris: Complete Piano Music
2010, Naxos

UPC: 636943966426


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency