Weekend Sale | £15 Off. Get the code »

alibris logo

Orthodox Chant of the 17th & 18th Centuries ()

performed by
composed by Anonymous, Russian, Artemy Vedel, Baldassare Galuppi, Dimitry Bortnyansky, Giuseppe Sarti, Nikolay Diletsky, Vasily Titov

Orthodox Chant in Harmonia Mundi's HM Gold series is a reissue of a disc released in 2003 under the title The Powers of Heaven. It was the second recording Paul Hillier made during his tenure with the Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir, and it covers a sampling of Eastern Orthodox sacred literature dating from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. These were the first centuries in which coherent literature was produced for Russian Orthodox choirs singing in Old Church Slavonic, and the arrival of Italian composers in ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Let My Prayer Arise (Da ispravitsia molitva mola), for 3 voices No. 2 in D minor
  2. Now the Powers of Heaven (Nyne sily nebesnyia), motet
  3. Cherubic Hymn (Cheroubikon) No. 7 in D major (Kheruvimskaia pesn)
  4. O Presviataia Mariye Devitse
  5. Work(s): Glory (Slava) / Only-begotten Son (Yedinorodnyi Syne)
  6. In the Flesh Thou Didst Fall Asleep (Plotyu usnuv), motet
  7. Sacred Concerto No. 24 ("I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills")
  8. Praise the Name of the Lord (Khvalite imia Gospodne)
  9. Sacred Concerto No. 27 ("I cried to the Lord with my voice") (Glasom moim ko Gospodu vozzvakh)
  10. By the Rivers of Babylon (Na rekakh vavilonskikh)
  11. Sacred Concerto No. 32 ("Tell me, O Lord, my end") (No. 100) (Skazhi mi, Gospodi, konchinu moyu)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Orthodox Chant of the 17th & 18th Centuries
2008, Harmonia Mundi

UPC: 794881852826


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency