Save £15 | Limited-Time Offer. Get the code »

alibris logo

Orbit: Music for Solo Cello (1945-2014) ()

performed by
composed by Adrian Pop, Ana Sokolovic, David Sanford, Du Yun, Elliott Carter, Gilles Tremblay, György Ligeti, John Lennon, Lewis Spratlan, Luciano Berio, Luigi Dallapiccola, Luna Pearl Woolf, Matt Haimovitz, Ned Rorem, Osvaldo Golijov, Paul Moravec, Philip Glass

On this 2015 compilation of contemporary solo cello music, Matt Haimovitz presents a diverse program of past performances, drawn from his recordings on Oxingale Records. The selections have been remastered for HD sound by PentaTone, so the audio quality of these three hybrid SACDs is superior to the sound of the first releases, which appeared on the albums Anthem (2003), Goulash! (2005), After Reading Shakespeare (2007), Figment (2009), and Matteo (2011). The selections range from popular music to the avant-garde, and ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Orbit, for cello
  2. Seventh Avenue Kaddish, for solo cello
  3. Omaramor, for solo cello
  4. Sequenza XIV, for cello
  5. Gordun, for cello
  6. Vez, for cello
  7. Sonata for cello
  8. San, for cello
  9. 9:11 Blues, for solo cello
  10. Anthem (after Jimmy Hendrix's 'Star-Spangled Banner'), for solo cello
  11. Helter Skelter
  12. Figment No. 1, for cello
  13. Ai limiti della notte, for solo viola
  14. Ciaccona Intermezzo e Adagio, for cello
  15. Rhondo Variations, for cello solo
  16. Sarabande for cello
  17. Figment No. 2 (Remembering Mr. Ives), for solo cello
  18. With Dadaji in Paradise, for solo cello
  19. Cédres en Voile: Thrène pour le Liban, for cello
  20. After Reading Shakespeare, for cello
  21. Mark Twain Sez, for speaker & cello
  22. Shadow, for solo cello
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Orbit: Music for Solo Cello (1945-2014)
2015, PentaTone Classics

UPC: 827949054266


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency