Weekend Sale | £15 Off. Get the code »

alibris logo

On Christmas Night ()

performed by , , , , , , , ,
composed by Christmas Traditional, Christopher Robinson, Elizabeth Poston, Felix Mendelssohn, Franz Gruber, Harold Darke, James Burton, John Francis Wade, John Joubert, John Rutter, John Tavener, Kenneth Leighton, Matheo Flecha, Matthew Martin, Michael Finnissy

On Christmas Night, an album featuring St. John's College Choir, Cambridge, led by Andrew Nethsingha, should have strong appeal for fans of men and boy's choirs and their characteristic repertoire. The choir has a sweet, youthful sound that's warmly blended. There is none of the hootiness that can trouble some men and boy's groups, but a pure and focused tone. The album's selections are what listeners have come to expect from English cathedral and college choirs: a healthy mix of very standard carols along with a few less ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. What Sweeter Music, for chorus
  2. Noël nouvelet, carol (French)
  3. Balulalow, carol setting for chorus
  4. A Babe Is Born, for chorus & organ, Op. 55
  5. In the Bleak Midwinter
  6. Ding Dong! Merrily on High (French)
  7. Jesus Christ the Apple Tree (The Apple Tree Carol)
  8. I Saw Three Ships, carol
  9. Out of your sleep
  10. Benedicamus Domino, for double chorus
  11. There Is No Rose, for chorus, Op. 14
  12. Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day (English)
  13. Adam lay ybounden, for chorus
  14. Riu, riu, chiu
  15. O Little Town of Bethlehem, carol (arr. from English traditional, "Forest Green")
  16. Es ist ein Ros entsprungen (Lo, How A Rose E'er Blooming) (Alte geistliche Kirchengesäng 1599)
  17. Make we joy, for chorus
  18. Hark! the Herald Angels Sing (adapted by W. H. Cummings from Mendelssohn's Festgesang for the Gutenberg Festival)
  19. The Lamb, for chorus
  20. Telling, for treble soloist & chorus
  21. Coventry Carol (Lully Lulla)
  22. Sussex Carol ("On Christmas Night")
  23. Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Silent Night)
  24. O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste fideles)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
On Christmas Night
2011, Chandos

UPC: 095115509623


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency