alibris logo

Ola Gjeilo: Voices, Piano, Strings ()

performed by , , , , , , , , ,
composed by Ola Gjeilo

The young Norwegian composer Ola Gjeilo (say YAY-lo) studied at the Juilliard School and has lived in New York and Italy. It's not clear how much contemporary Christian music he might have absorbed while in the U.S. (New York is probably not a top market for the genre), but the sacred pieces here contain passages that evoke the so-called praise & worship music within that genre, with light choral polyphony over a backdrop of piano and/or strings. Other pieces lean more toward Philip Glass, and yet others toward a cappella ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Ubi caritas, for chorus
  2. The Spheres, for vocal ensemble
  3. The Ground (Pleni sunt caeli), for chorus, piano & string quartet
  4. Sanctus, for chorus
  5. Dreamweaver, for chorus, string quartet & piano: The Crossing
  6. Northern Lights, for chorus (from Tres Cantos)
  7. The Lake Isle, for chorus, guitar, string quartet & piano
  8. Serenity (O magnum mysterium), for cello & chorus
  9. Tundra, for soprano, female chorus, piano & optional string quartet
  10. Reflections, for string quartet & piano
  11. Sacred Heart (Ubi Caritas III), for chorus & string quartet
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency