alibris logo

Mstislav Rostropovich: The Complete Decca Recordings ()

performed by , , , ,
composed by Benjamin Britten, Claude Debussy, Frank Bridge, Franz Joseph Haydn, Franz Schubert, Ludwig van Beethoven, Robert Schumann

In the early 1960s, when Rostropovich was just beginning his international career, he made a handful of recordings for Decca. This 2012 box -- issued for what would have been his 85th birthday -- brings those albums together. It includes all of the works Benjamin Britten specifically wrote for Rostropovich: the two suites, the sonata, and the Symphony for cello and orchestra, accompanied or conducted by the composer himself, making these definitive versions. There are also other sonatas they collaborated on, including ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Sonata for arpeggione & piano in A minor ("Arpeggione Sonata"), D. 821
  2. Stücke im Volkston (5) for cello (or violin) & piano, Op. 102
  3. Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major, H. 7b/1
  4. Suite for solo cello No. 1, Op. 72
  5. Suite for solo cello No. 2, Op. 80
  6. Sonata for cello & piano in C major, Op. 65
  7. Cello Symphony, for cello & orchestra, Op. 68
  8. Sonata for cello & piano in D minor, H 125
  9. Sonata for cello & piano, L. 144 (135)
  10. Sonata for cello & piano No. 1 in F major, Op. 5/1
  11. Sonata for cello & piano No. 2 in G minor, Op. 5/2
  12. Sonata for cello & piano No. 3 in A major, Op. 69
  13. Sonata for cello & piano No. 4 in C major, Op. 102/1
  14. Sonata for cello & piano No. 5 in D major, Op. 102/2
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency