alibris logo

Monteverdi: Vespro solenni per la Festa di San Marco ()

performed by ,
composed by Anonymous, Claudio Monteverdi, Francesco Usper, Giovanni Battista Buonamente, Giovanni Gabrieli, Unspecified

The Vespri Solenni per la Festa di San Marco recorded here are not a newly discovered work by Claudio Monteverdi, but a re-creation of how a large Vespers service might have sounded in St. Mark's cathedral in Venice in the years after Monteverdi arrived there as music director in 1613. The music was not actually recorded at St. Mark's, but at his former place of employment, the Basilica of Santa Barbara in Mantua, where the Vespers of 1610 were likely first performed. It's a more-than-adequate substitute inasmuch as some of ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Domine ad adiuvandum, motet for 6 voices (from Vespers), SV 206/1
  2. Egregius Christi petrus apostolus, antiphon
  3. Dixit Dominus, motet for 6 voices and 6 strings (from Vespers), SV 206/2
  4. Canzon No. 8, for 8 parts, C. 202
  5. Doctrinam apostolicam evangeliste Marco committens, antiphon
  6. Confitebor tibi, Domine II, motet for 3 voices & 2 violins (from Salve morale e spirituale), SV 266
  7. Christe, adoramus te, motet for 5 voices, SV 294
  8. Ad hec disponente dei gratia, antiphon
  9. Beatus Vir (I), motet for 6 voices, 2 violins, 3 violas/trombones and continuo (from Seva morale e spirituale), SV 268
  10. Sonata 8
  11. Beate sancte Marce, antiphon
  12. Laudate, pueri, Dominum (I), motet for 5 voices & 2 violins (from Selva morale e spirituale), SV 270
  13. Cantate Domino canticum novum, motet, version for 6 voices, SV 293
  14. Sancte evangelista Marce, antiphon
  15. Laudate Dominum, omnes gentes (II), motet for 8 voices & 2 violins (from Selva morale e spirituale), SV 273
  16. Sonata 6 (Sonate et Canzoni, Book 6)
  17. Deus tuorum militum sors et corona, motet for alto, tenor, bass & 2 violins (from Selva morale et spirituale), SV 280
  18. Pulchra facie et alacri vultu / Deprecare pastor bone, verse & responsory
  19. Post angelicam allocutionem, antiphon
  20. Magnificat (I), for 8 voices, 2 violins and 4 violas/trombones (from Selva morale e spirituale), SV 281
  21. DVD Bonus Disc
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency