alibris logo

Life ()

performed by
composed by Bill Evans, Ferruccio Busoni, Franz Liszt, Frederic Rzewski, Johann Sebastian Bach, Robert Schumann

Pianist Igor Levit moved from Russia to Germany when he was eight, but there's still a lot of Russian in his outlook: an attraction to the pure virtuoso tradition, and a tendency toward big statements and the big questions. Nowhere has this been more true than on Life, an album that succeeds both thematically and as a thrilling embodiment of late-Romantic pianism at its best. The title, and the contents, refer to the album's memorial function: Levit chose the program to honor a close artist friend who died in an accident. ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Fantasia nach J. S. Bach, for piano, KiV 253
  2. Partita for solo violin No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004: Chaconne
  3. Variations on an original theme, for piano in E flat major ("Geister-Variationen"), WoO 24
  4. Dreams, for piano, Part 1: No. 3 A Mensch
  5. Feierlicher Marsch zum heiligen Gral aus Parsifal, for piano, S. 450 (LW A315) (after Wagner)
  6. Fantasie & Fuge über den Choral "Ad nos, ad salutarem undam", for organ, S. 259 (LW E1)
  7. Isoldens Liebestod: Schlußszene aus Tristan und Isolde, transcription for piano, S. 447 (LW A239) (after Wagner)
  8. Berceuse, for piano (Elegies No. 7), KiV 252
  9. The Peace Piece, for piano
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
2018, Sony Classical

UPC: 889854244521


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency