Save £15 | Limited-Time Offer. Get the code »

alibris logo

Innocence Lost: The Berg-Debussy Project ()

performed by
composed by Alban Berg, Anna Weesner, Claude Debussy, Daniel Rothman, David Del Tredici, Eleonor Sandresky, Eric Moe, Joe Kerr, Jorge Martín, Lee Hyla, Sebastian Currier, Tom Cipullo

Innocence Lost: The Berg-Debussy Project starts from an intriguing premise: mezzo-soprano Mary Nessinger and pianist Jeanne Golan chose two classic fin de (XIXme) siècle song sets, Debussy's Trois Chansons de Bilitis (1897-1898) and Berg's Sieben Frühe Lieder (1908), which are stylistically worlds apart, but which each express a new direction in musical languages arising at the end of the Romantic era. The performers then asked 10 contemporary composers to each write a song corresponding to one of the songs by Berg or ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Chansons de Bilitis (3), song cycle for voice & piano, L. 97 (90)
  2. Voyelles ("A noir, E blanc, I rouge"), for voice & piano
  3. La Soga ("Este canto es la soga"), for voice & piano
  4. The Nymphs are Departed ("The river's tent is broken"), for voice & piano (from The Waste Land)
  5. Early Songs (7), for voice & piano (or orchestra)
  6. On Learning on the Clearest Night Only 6000 Stars Are Visible to the Naked Eye, for voice & piano
  7. The Rape of Ophelia ("Her clothes spread wide"), for voice & piano
  8. Distant Heart ("What is the shape made there"), for voice & piano
  9. Ev'ryfrigginthing, for voice & piano
  10. Soneto de Amor LXXXI ("Ya eres mía"), for voice & piano
  11. A White Rose ("The red rose whipsers of passion"), for voice & piano
  12. She Goes Her Spacious Way ("Summer - we all have seen - "), for voice & piano
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Innocence Lost: The Berg-Debussy Project
2009, Albany Music

UPC: 034061111320


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency