Weekend Sale | £15 Off. Get the code »

alibris logo

If on a Winter's Night ()


It's no secret that Sting is a serious man, so it's only logical that his holiday album -- his first new music since the Police reunion, not that it really matters -- is a serious endeavor, thank you. No niceties for him, no comforts of carols; he favors formal over familiar, writing madrigals, not ditties. The austerity here is genuine, not affected, and the cerebral nature of the album is gently fascinating. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Gabriel's Message
  2. Soul Cake
  3. There Is No Rose of Such Virtue
  4. The Snow It Melts the Soonest
  5. Christmas at Sea]
  6. Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming
  7. Cold Song
  8. The Burning Babe
  9. Now Winter Comes Slowly
  10. The Hounds of Winter]
  11. Balulalow
  12. Cherry Tree Carol
  13. Lullaby for an Anxious Child]
  14. The Hurdy-Gurdy Man
  15. You Only Cross My Mind in Winter]
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
If on a Winter's Night
2009, Deutsche Grammophon

UPC: 602527017433


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency