Save £10 through Sunday. Get the code »

alibris logo

Howells: Choral Works ()

performed by , , , , , , , , ,
composed by Herbert Howells

These two discs from the early '90s of Herbert Howells' choral music include everything he wrote either sacred or secular for chorus a cappella or with organ accompaniment. The works range from large-scale masterpieces like the Mass in the Dorian Mode and the Requiem through small-scale masterpieces like "The House of the Mind" and "Take Him, Earth, for Cherishing," to exquisite miniatures Salve Regina and "Thee Will I Love." The uniformly excellent performances by the Finzi Singers led by Paul Spicer range from unutterably ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Te Deum ("For the Church of St. Mary, Redcliffe, Bristol")
  2. Even Such Is Time, for chorus
  3. The Summer is Coming, for chorus
  4. Work(s) for chorus: Nunc Dimittis
  5. The House of the Mind, motet for chorus & organ
  6. Two Madrigals, for chorus
  7. Salve Regina, for chorus
  8. Mass in the Dorian Mode, for chorus
  9. God Is Gone Up, for chorus & organ
  10. Here Is the Little Door, carol-anthem for chorus
  11. Sing Lullaby, carol-anthem for chorus
  12. A Spotless Rose, for chorus
  13. Sweetest of Sweets, for chorus
  14. Haec Dies, for chorus
  15. Regina Coeli, for chorus
  16. Long, Long Ago, for chorus
  17. A Sequence for St Michael, motet for soprano, tenor, chorus & organ
  18. Antiphon, for chorus
  19. Requiem, for soprano, 2 tenors, bass & chorus
  20. Take Him, Earth, for Cherishing, motet on the death of President Kennedy for chorus
  21. Thee Will I Love, for chorus
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Howells: Choral Works
2006, Chandos

UPC: 095115243428


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency