George Perle: A Retrospective ()

performed by , , , , , , , , ,
composed by George Perle

Above all, American composer George Perle is not known for any of his works, but instead for the book Serial Composition and Atonality, a standard textbook used in college-level music courses. This has led to the common misconception that Perle is a serial composer, a designation that is only partly true. Perle works within a highly modified version of the twelve-tone system and its primacy, both in his work and in the era through which he was most active as composer, did not preclude him from composing traditional music ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Nine Bagatelles for piano
  2. Three Inventions for solo bassoon
  3. Chansons Cachées, for piano: Adagietto con affetto
  4. French Christmas Carols (2), for chorus
  5. Triptych, for violin & piano
  6. String Quartet No. 9 ("Brief Encounters")
  7. Piano Concerto No. 2
  8. Serenade for piano & orchestra No. 3
  9. Solo Partita, for violin & viola
  10. Celebratory Inventions (6), for piano
  11. Bassoon Music
  12. String Quintet, Op. 35
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
George Perle: A Retrospective
2006, Bridge

UPC: 090404921421


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency