Save £15 | Limited-Time Offer. Get the code »

alibris logo

Dunstable: Sweet Harmony - Masses and Motets ()

performed by , , ,
composed by John Dunstable

English composer John Dunstable was the Beethoven of the fifteenth century, a transitional figure whose work swept away all that went before it. Nevertheless, it has not been the easiest thing to enjoy Dunstable's music in a current context, and that is not for lack of love on the part of scholars and early music ensembles. Although English, very little of Dunstable's music survives in his native land thanks to Henry VIII's dissolution of the monasteries and its requisite destruction of Latin music manuscripts, occurring ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Quam pulcra es, antiphon for 3 voices, MB 44
  2. Kyrie, for 3 voices, MB 1
  3. Gloria and Credo for 4 voices, MB 11, 12
  4. Gloria and Credo for 3 voices, isorhythmic mass movements based on "Jesu Christe Fili Dei", MB 15 & 16
  5. Sanctus, for 3 voices, MB 6
  6. Mass (Kyrie, Gloria, Credo, Sanctus) on "Da gaudiorum premia", isorhythmic setting for 3 voices, MB 69, 72, 17, 18 (Sanctus spur?)
  7. Agnus Dei , for 3 voices, MB 14
  8. Veni Sancte Spiritus, isorhythmic motet for 4 voices, MB 32
  9. Gloria, in canon (some accompanying voices lacking; discovered in 1996)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency