Weekend Sale | Save £10. Get the code »

Cirque ()

performed by ,
composed by Darius Milhaud, Erik Satie, Francis Poulenc, Georges Auric, Henri Sauguet

This album certainly captures the spirit of a circus through its repertoire of whimsical pieces by French composers, including Erik Satie and Darius Milhaud. Performed by Céline Ricci with pianist Daniel Lockert, they are a unique introduction to late 19th and 20th century art songs that are more accessible than, say, German lieder, as they have a more popular feel. However, for much of this album, something does not seem to work quite right. Perhaps it is the fact that Ricci, who bills herself on her website as a "soprano, ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Cirque, songs (5) for voice & piano
  2. Poèmes de Jean Cocteau (3), songs for voice & piano, Op. 59
  3. Ragtime Parade, for piano (arrangement by Hans Ourdine, after "Parade")
  4. Cocardes, song cycle for voice & piano (or ensemble), FP 16
  5. Tango des Fratellini, transcription for piano (of excerpt from "Le Boeuf sur le toit" by Henri Mouton), Op. 58c
  6. Poemes (8) de Cocteau, for voice & piano
  7. Caramel mou (Shimmy), for piano, Op. 68arr
  8. Chansons de théâtre (6), song cycle for voice & piano, Op. 151b
  9. La Voyante (The Fortune-Teller), for voice & piano
  10. Le Chemin des Forains, for voice & piano
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
2011, Dorian Sono Luminus

UPC: 053479212528


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency