alibris logo

Chansons de la Renaissance ()

performed by , , , , , , ,
composed by Carlo Gesualdo, Cipriano de Rore, Claude Le Jeune, Claudin de Sermisy, Clément Janequin, Guillaume Costeley, Jacobus Clemens Non Papa, John Dowland, Josquin Des Prez, Loyset Compère, Luca Marenzio, Orlande de Lassus, Pierre Certon, Pierre Passereau

As with the other discs of vocal music in Harmonia Mundi's Century: A History of Music series, it's a shame that this one includes no song texts. For the newcomer, at whom such a series is presumably aimed, there's no better anchor than knowing what the performers are singing about. But for that, this disc offers a nearly ideal introduction to the secular song of the second half of the Renaissance. Notes clearly explain and performances pleasingly illustrate the major genres -- the Franco-Flemish chanson, the Italian ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Faulte d'argent, canonic chanson for 5 voices
  2. Une puce j'ay
  3. Autant en emporte le vent, chanson
  4. Nous sommes de l'ordre de Saint Babouyn
  5. En escoutant le chant melodieux, chanson for 4 voices ("Le chant du rossignol;" "Le rossignol"), M. 2/68
  6. Gentilz veneurs, chanson for 4 voices ("La chasse"), M. 1/4
  7. Tétin refaict plus blanc, chanson for 4 voices ("Du Beau Tétin"), M. 2/66
  8. Du laid tetin
  9. Tant que vivrait en eage florissant, chanson for 4 voices
  10. Il est bel et bon, commere, mon mary (Chansons musicales, Paris 1534)
  11. La prise de Calais
  12. La, la, la, je ne l'ose dire
  13. Anchor che col partire, madrigal
  14. Schiet' arbuscel
  15. Dissimulare etiam sperasti, motet for 5-7 voices
  16. Allala la pia calia, villanelle for 4 voices, S. x/104
  17. Vezzosi augelli in fra le verdi fronde, madrigal for 4 voices (Madrigali...libro primo a 4 voci)
  18. Crudele acerba inesorabil' morte, madrigal for 5 voices (Il nono libro de madrigali a 5 voci)
  19. Mercè grido piangendo, madrigal for 5 voices (Book 5), W. 5/49
  20. Constant Penelope, madrigal for 5 voices
  21. The noble famous queen (also "While Phoebus used to dwell"), consort song for voice & 4 viols
  22. Flow, my tears, fall from your springs, for 2 voices & lute (Second Book of Songs)
  23. Come away come sweet love, for 4 voices & lute (First Book of Songs)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Chansons de la Renaissance
2005, Harmonia Mundi

UPC: 794881783823


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency