Centenary Edition 1908-1917, Vol. 2 ()

performed by , , , , , , , ,
composed by Anton Rubinstein, Bedrich Smetana, Charles Gounod, Edward Elgar, Franz Schubert, Frédéric Chopin, Gaetano Donizetti, Gioachino Rossini, Giuseppe Verdi, Henryk Wieniawski, Johann Sebastian Bach, Ludwig van Beethoven, Paolo Tosti, Richard Strauss

The second volume in EMI's Centenary Edition covers the years between 1908 and 1917, a period marked by improvements in sound quality and increased duration. The Gramophone Company, as EMI was known then, sought out the greatest talents of the day and captured samples of their art in these brief but telling recordings. This disc opens with Joseph Szigeti's 1908 recording of Bach's Prelude from the Partita in E major, made when the performer was still in his teens and prone to flamboyant playing. Elena Gerhardt's 1911 ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Partita for solo violin No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006: Prelude in E
  2. Il barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville), opera: Una voce poco fa
  3. Dalibor, opera, JB 1:101: Jac je mí
  4. Aida, opera: Qui Radamès verrà...O patria mia
  5. Mireille, opera, CG 8: O d'amor messagera
  6. Otello, opera: Sì pel ciel marmoreo guiro!
  7. Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute), opera, K. 620: Infelice, sconsolata
  8. An die Musik ("Du holde Kunst..."), song for voice & piano, D. 547 (Op. 88/4)
  9. La Serenata, for voice & piano or orchestra, C.S. 109
  10. Mazurkas (2) for violin & piano, Op. 19: Mazurka in D, Op 19 No 02
  11. Rigoletto, opera: Questa o quella
  12. Un ballo in maschera, opera: Saper vorreste
  13. The Demon (Der Dämon), opera: Do not weep, child
  14. Etude for piano No. 14 in F minor, Op. 25/2, CT. 27
  15. Andrea Chénier, opera: Un dì all'azzurro spazio
  16. Il barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville), opera: Se il mio nome
  17. Ariadne auf Naxos, opera, Op. 60-II (TrV 228a) (revised version): Es gibt ein Reich
  18. Lucia di Lammermoor, opera: Tu che Dio spiegasti l'ali
  19. Symphony No. 5 in C minor ("Fate"), Op. 67: 01 Allegro con brio
  20. Die schöne Müllerin, song cycle, for voice & piano, D. 795 (Op. 25): No 01 das Wandern
  21. Land of Hope and Glory, for voice & piano (arr. by Benson from March Op.39/1 & Coronation Ode Op.44)
Show Fewer Tracks

Currently there are no copies available. However, our inventory changes frequently. Please check back soon or try Book Fetch.
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency