alibris logo

British Music for Violin and Piano ()

performed by ,
composed by Cyril Scott, Edward Elgar, Frank Bridge, Frederick Delius, John Ireland

The British music for violin and piano heard on this release by violinist Clare Howick comes from a small slice of the history of the combination: most of it is from the first two decades of the 20th century. It's an obscure corner of the tradition even for lovers of British chamber music, but it would be hard to imagine it being done better than in the quietly graceful, precise readings on offer here. Howick frames her program with two Elgar works: the serious Violin Sonata of 1918 and the virtuoso Mazurka of 1899. But the ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Sonata for violin & piano in E minor, Op. 82
  2. Romanze, for violin & piano, H. 45
  3. Serenade for violin (or cello) & piano, H. 23
  4. Pieces (5) for piano, RT ix/7: IV. Lullaby for a Modern Baby
  5. Vesperale, for piano, Op. 40/2 (W 401)
  6. Three Dances, for violin or cello & piano, H. 4: III. Moto perpetuo
  7. Gondoliera, for violin & piano in E minor, H. 80
  8. Sonnets (2), for violin & piano
  9. Bumblebees, for violin
  10. Short Pieces (4) for violin (or cello) & piano, H. 104: IV. Country Dance
  11. Hassan, incidental music, RT i/9: Serenade
  12. Con moto, for violin & piano in G major (Andante), H 22
  13. Romance, for violin & piano, RT viii/2
  14. Bagatelle, for violin & piano
  15. Romanze, for violin & piano, H. 45
  16. Cavatina, for violin & piano
  17. Short Pieces (4) for violin (or cello) & piano, H. 104: I. Meditation
  18. The Gentle Maiden
  19. Characteristic Pieces (3), for orchestra, Op. 10: No. 1. Mazurka
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency