alibris logo

Beethoven: The Symphonies [Box Set] ()

performed by , , , , , ,
composed by Ludwig van Beethoven, Spoken Word

Recorded between 1972 and 1974 and released in time for Christmas in 1975, Georg Solti and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra's stereo cycle of Beethoven's symphonies was a classic in its time and remains so 30 years later in this splendidly remastered 2007 re-release. As was typical of the Solti/Chicago partnership, the performances here are big boned, heavy muscled, and very aggressive with highly dramatic conducting matched by hugely powerful playing. Though for some listeners, Solti and the Chicago's approach to the First ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21
  2. Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36
  3. Symphony No. 3 in E flat major ("Eroica"), Op. 55
  4. Egmont, incidental music, Op. 84: Overture
  5. Coriolan Overture, Op. 62
  6. Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60
  7. Symphony No. 5 in C minor ("Fate"), Op. 67
  8. Symphony No. 6 in F major ("Pastoral"), Op. 68
  9. Fidelio, overture, Op. 72c
  10. Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
  11. Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93
  12. Symphony No. 9 in D minor ("Choral"), Op. 125
  13. Sir Georg Solti in conversation with William Mann
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency