alibris logo

Baroque Journey ()

performed by , ,
composed by Antonio Vivaldi, George Frederick Handel, Gottfried Heinrich Stölzel, Henry Purcell, Johann Sebastian Bach

It has been awhile since CD consumers have heard from the great Korean coloratura soprano Sumi Jo, who has been out of the record market but maintaining a busy concert schedule, particularly in Asia and Europe. Baroque Journey is Jo's full-length foray into Baroque repertoire, although some of her previous albums have contained material culled from the Baroque, particularly La Promessa (1998), The Christmas Album (1999), and Prayers (2000), so she is hardly a stranger to the medium of the Baroque aria. Partnered by the ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Nulla in mundo pax sincera, solo motet for voice, strings & continuo in E major, RV 630: 1. Larghetto. Nulla in mundo paz sincera
  2. Griselda, opera, RV 718: Agitata da due venti
  3. Bist du bei mir, for voice & continuo
  4. L'Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato (Pastoral Ode), oratorio, HWV 55: As steals the morn upon night
  5. Semele, oratorio, HWV 58: Where'er you walk
  6. Cantata No. 211, "Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht" ("Coffee Cantata"), BWV 211 (BC G48): Ei! wie schmeckt der Kaffee süße
  7. Music for a While (from "Oedipus"), song, Z. 583/2
  8. Samson, oratorio, HWV 57: Let the bright seraphim
  9. Bajazet (Il Tamerlano), pasticcio opera, RV 703: Sposa son disprezzata
  10. Fairest Isle (from "King Arthur"), aria for soprano, Z. 628/38
  11. Rinaldo, opera, HWV 7: Lascia ch'io pianga
  12. Cantata No. 21, "Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis," BWV 21 (BC A99): Seufzer, Tränen, Kummer, Not
  13. Messiah, oratorio, HWV 56: I know that my Redeemer liveth
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Baroque Journey
2007, Warner Classics Jazz

UPC: 825646982462


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency