Save £15 | Limited-Time Offer. Get the code »

alibris logo

America Again ()

performed by
composed by Aaron Copland, American Traditional, Amy Beach, Angelica Negron, Dan Visconti, David Sanford, Duke Ellington, Ernest Bloch, Florence Price, George Gershwin, Harold Arlen, Howard Hanson, Irving Berlin, Leonard Bernstein, Lou Harrison, Morton Gould

The title of this release comes from a 1938 poem by Langston Hughes ("Let America be America again...Let it be that great strong land of love"). The album appeared before the 2016 U.S. elections, but for some listeners its embrace of musical diversity may be quite timely. Beyond that, the album embodies the striking ability of Lara Downes to knit very unfamiliar music into recitals that seem so natural and persuasive as to be almost inevitable. Downes is one of a very few classical performers to have realized that concert ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. American Caprice, for orchestra
  2. New York Waltzes (3), for piano
  3. Shenandoah, folk song
  4. From Blackbird Hills, for piano, Op. 83
  5. Deep River, for piano (Negro Melodies), Op. 59/10
  6. Lonesome Roads, for piano trio: Nocturne
  7. Poems of the Sea, for orchestra (or piano)
  8. Porgy and Bess, opera: I Love You, Porgy
  9. Sueno Recurrente, for piano
  10. Anniversaries (13), for piano: for Stephen Sondheim
  11. Promise, for piano
  12. Slumber Song, for piano
  13. Gladiolus Rag, for piano
  14. Blue Skies, film score
  15. Fantaisie nègre, for piano
  16. Sentimental Melody (Slow Dance), for piano
  17. Melancholia, for piano
  18. Li'l Boy Named David, for piano
  19. Somewhere Over the Rainbow (for the film The Wizard of Oz)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
America Again
2016, Sono Luminus

UPC: 053479220721


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency