40 Voices ()

performed by ,
composed by Alessandro Striggio, Giovanni Gabrieli, Jean Mouton, Joan Baptista Comes, Joćo Lourenco Rebelo, Josquin Des Prez, Robert Wylkynson, Thomas Tallis, Willem Ceuleers

This CD, a recording of a live performance by Paul van Nevel's choir of mixed voices, Huelgas Ensemble, features a program that is fraught with peril -- large-scale a cappella Renaissance music with 12 to 40 individual parts. To make it through such a treacherous program without a tonal train wreck would be an achievement, but the ensemble performs not only with precision and beauty of tone, remarkable accomplishments in themselves in music of this density, but with an expressiveness that makes the esoteric repertoire ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Nomen mortis infame, for 35 voices
  2. Gloria, for 12 voices
  3. Qui habitat in adiutorio Altissimi, motet for 4 parts
  4. Jesus autem transiens / Credo in Deum
  5. Ecce beatam lucem
  6. En venant de Lyon, chanson for 4 voices
  7. Lauda Jerusalem, for 16 voices
  8. Exaudi me Domine, motet for 16 voices, C. 82
  9. Spem in Alium (also set as "Sing and glorify"), motet for 40 voices, P. 299
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
40 Voices
2007, Harmonia Mundi

UPC: 794881818662


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency